Skip to content

 Live chat  is available Monday to Friday between 8.45am and 4.45pm (except public holidays).

News and announcements

Have your say on 4 May

View candidates standing in the council elections on 4 May and information on how to vote.

Scottish Election 2017

We are encouraging residents to make sure that they have their say on 4th May.

Please take a minute to check your polling card so you know where to cast your vote on 4 May. Ward boundaries have changed and your polling station may not be in the same place as when you voted in the last election. There will be signs outside polling stations on the day but to avoid a wasted journey please double check before you head off to vote. You don't require your poll card to vote as long as you have registered to vote. If you haven't received your poll card and are unsure if you have registered, you can check with the ERO at 0300 300 0150.

Lorraine McMillan - East Renfrewshire Returning Officer

If you are entitled to vote but are not sure where to go, you can contact the election office on 0141 577 3033 and staff will be able to direct you to the correct polling place.

The Scottish council elections use the single transferable vote system which means you vote using numbers.

Your ballot paper will list all the candidates standing to be councillors in your ward.

You will be asked to number the candidates in order of your choice - put number 1 in the voting box next to your first choice, number 2 in the voting box next to your second choice, number 3 in the voting box next to your third choice and so on. You don't have to number every candidate.

Polling stations are open from 7am to 10pm on Thursday 4 May and voters can only vote at the polling station that is stated on their own poll card.

Postal voters must return their vote by 10pm on 4 May via mail or by taking it to any polling station in the East Renfrewshire Council area and handing it in.

Proxy voters must ensure they are able to vote at the correct polling station.


The following schools will be closed on 4 May for polling station use: 

  • Thornliebank Primary School
  • Giffnock Primary School
  • Braidbar Primary School
  • OLM Primary School
  • Netherlee Primary School
  • Carolside Primary School
  • Busby Primary School
  • Kirkhill Primary School
  • Eaglesham Primary School
  • Neilston Primary School
  • St. Cadocs Primary School
  • Crookfur Primary School
  • Cross Arthurlie Primary School
  • Carlibar Primary School


Help improve this webpage

Was this page helpful?

Please use the official complaints channel if your comment is about service provision:

Complaints, feedback and having your say

(Include if you would like a response to your feedback)