Skip to content

For the latest service updates relating to coronavirus visit our coronavirus information web page.

Live chat is available Monday to Friday between 8.45am and 4.45pm (except public holidays).

News and announcements

Creative pupils win road safety competition

Drawings are part of the 2019 calendar

Road safety calendar 2019

Talented pupils from across East Renfrewshire will have their designs printed and showcased after winning the council's annual road safety calendar competition.

Twelve artistic pupils from local primary schools will each have their drawing featured in the 2019 calendar which will be distributed to schools, libraries and council offices throughout the area.

The winner's ceremony was held at the council headquarters and Provost Jim Fletcher presented the winning pupils with their prize, which included a certificate and gift voucher. They were joined by their proud parents and teachers.

The calendar aims to help raise road safety awareness and pupils are asked to base their design on road safety and school travel.

The winning pupils were chosen from more than 1000 entries to the popular competition, which has been running for over 30 years.

The winners are as follows:

Group 1 - Primary 1

1st Place - Caila Jackson, St Thomas' Primary

2nd Place - Hamish Hackley, Eaglesham Primary

3rd Place - Lucas McLenna, St Thomas' Primary

Group 2 - Primary 2 and 3

1st Place - Annie Savilaakso, Eaglesham Primary

2nd Place - Eric Morcos, St Cadoc's Primary

3rd Place - Skye Mueller, Neilston Primary

Group 3 - Primary 4 and 5

1st Place - Aila Inglis, Carolside Primary

2nd Place - Rebecca Bodys, Crookfur Primary

3rd Place - Abeer Sajjad, Giffnock Primary

Group 4 - Primary 6 and 7

1st Place - Grace Greaves, St Cadoc's Primary

2nd Place - Katie Mackessy, Eaglesham Primary

3rd Place - Naomi Whyte, St Cadoc's Primary

Eaglesham Primary received the Rowan Quaich trophy for being the best performing school overall in the competition.

"The 2019 calendar looks fantastic and I was delighted to present all of the winners with their prizes again this year. Congratulations to all of the winners, and thank you to everyone who entered for their hard work and efforts - the standard of entries was extremely high. This annual competition is a great way of getting everyone to concentrate their minds on such an important subject." Provost Jim Fletcher