Skip to content

 Live chat  is available Monday to Friday between 8.45am and 4.45pm (except public holidays).

Elections and voting

Election staff at the council

Duties of the Returning Officer, the elections they have responsibility for and contact information.

In her capacity as Returning Officer, Lorraine McMillan, the council's Chief Executive, conducts the following elections in East Renfrewshire:

  • Council
  • Scottish Parliament (for the Eastwood Scottish Parliamentary Constituency and the West of Scotland Regional List)
  • UK Parliament (for the East Renfrewshire constituency)
  • European (for the Scotland European region)

Since 2011, the Barrhead, Neilston and Uplawmoor area now lies within the newly created Renfrewshire South Scottish Parliamentary constituency. Scottish Parliament elections for this area are conducted by the Chief Executive of Renfrewshire Council who is the Returning Officer for the Renfrewshire area

The Chief Executive also acts as Returning Officer for other special elections, such as the UK Referendum on changes to the voting system, held in May 2011.

For the West of Scotland Regional list elections for the Scottish Parliament, the Returning Officer acts under the direction of the Chief Executive of Renfrewshire Council, who has been appointed as the Regional Returning Officer.

For the European Elections the Returning Officer is designated as the local Returning Officer and acts under the direction of the Regional Returning Officer for Scotland (currently the Chief Executive of Falkirk Council).

If you would like more information about elections please contact:

Eamonn Daly
Depute Returning Officer
0141 577 3023

All elections are scrutinised and regulated by the independent:

Help improve this webpage

Was this page helpful?

Please use the official complaints channel if your comment is about service provision:

Complaints, feedback and having your say

(Include if you would like a response to your feedback)