Skip to content

Live chat is available Monday to Friday between 8.45am and 4.45pm (except public holidays)


Elections and voting

Our election staff

Find out the duties and contact information of the Returning Officer.

In her role as Returning Officer, Lorraine McMillan, the council's Chief Executive, leads the following elections in East Renfrewshire:

  • Council
  • Scottish Parliament (for the Eastwood Scottish Parliamentary Constituency and the West of Scotland Regional List)
  • UK Parliament (for the East Renfrewshire constituency)
  • European (for the Scotland European region)

Barrhead, Neilston and Uplawmoor area lie within Renfrewshire South Scottish Parliamentary constituency. Scottish Parliament elections for this area are conducted by the Chief Executive of Renfrewshire Council.

For the West of Scotland Regional list elections for the Scottish Parliament, the Returning Officer acts under the direction of the Chief Executive of Renfrewshire Council, who has been appointed as the Regional Returning Officer.

For the European Elections the Returning Officer is assigned as the local Returning Officer and acts under the direction of the Regional Returning Officer for Scotland (currently the Chief Executive of Falkirk Council).

The Chief Executive also acts as Returning Officer for other special electoral contests, such as the UK Referendum 2011 on changes to the voting system and the 2014 Scottish Independence Referendum.

If you'd like more information about elections, please contact:

Eamonn Daly (Depute Returning Officer)


Phone: 0141 577 3023

Help improve this webpage

Was this page helpful?

Please use the official complaints channel if your comment is about service provision:

Complaints, feedback and having your say

(Include if you would like a response to your feedback)