The Returning Officer

Find out the duties and contact information of the Returning Officer.

In his role as Returning Officer, Steven Quinn, the council's Chief Executive, leads the following elections in East Renfrewshire:

  • Council
  • Scottish Parliament (for the Eastwood Scottish Parliamentary Constituency and the West of Scotland Regional List)
  • UK Parliament (for the East Renfrewshire constituency)

Barrhead, Neilston and Uplawmoor area lie within Renfrewshire south Scottish parliamentary constituency. Scottish Parliament elections for this area are conducted by the Chief Executive of Renfrewshire Council.

For the West of Scotland Regional list elections for the Scottish Parliament, the Returning Officer acts under the direction of the Chief Executive of Renfrewshire Council, who has been appointed as the Regional Returning Officer.

The Chief Executive also acts as Returning Officer for other special electoral contests, such as the UK referendum 2011 on changes to the voting system and the 2014 Scottish Independence Referendum.

You can contact the Returning Officer on Tel: 0141 577 3033 or by email at:


Last modified on 15 April 2024